But I had no Symptoms

I was getting an echocardiogram (sonogram of the heart) and the technician was asking me if I’d had any symptoms. I said no. “Its amazing how many people I see who had no symptoms when diagnosed.” We were talking about the cancer, this test was because certain chemo drugs can cause heart failure or weakening of the heart so a baseline needs to be determined.

But how can so many people, some seriously far along, have no symptoms?

I think I did have symptoms, and ignored them. Cancer starts so small, with just a few cells and then grows and spreads. A weird itch is just a weird itch, its just a little extra soreness. My allergies are just getting worse. I’ve always had headaches they are just a little worse right now. Its probably just stress. No, not my symptoms, but examples.

Then you have doctors seeing a patient with some minor complaint, so it must by a hypochondriac (had a doctor call me worse, several of them) and part of that is the odds.

Well, what about lumps? My main tumor is found my pain on urination or blood in urine, something I had from another condition I was already being treated for. It then spread to lymph nodes in my groin, which requires palpation in that groin crevice by the leg, the amount of force needed to feel it though I would never have. The potential spread in my lungs? Never would have found due to severe lung scaring from asthma and pneumonia.

I had symptoms, kinda.

Leave a comment